Cosmicrayola

my friends call me Cosmic.

That's better than what some people call me


Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places

Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Monday, Jan. 16, 2006 11:02 P.M.

Olfactory memories anyone?

I was reading diaries tonight and poolagirl mentioned rubbing an orange on her hand today so she could smell it later. Well, you have to read the entry, I think it was yesterday�s. Anyway, this inspired me to write my very first and very own meme. I�m not playing tag with it. If you want to do it fine, if not, that�s ok too.

List 5 aromas that bring back wonderful childhood memories and 5 aromas that bring back not so wonderful memories. Then �Splain it Lucy.

Wonderful memories:
1. Home-made bread; I can still smell it. My grammie�s kitchen. She would take all day making it. There were 6 of us kids at the time. She would usually make 4 loaves at a time. In that case, we would try to be first in line when it came out of the oven to get the heel. There was nothing in the world more wonderful that warm home-made bread, fresh out of the oven with gobs of melted butter. (Not margarine either!)

2. Lilacs; A wonderful lady , Mrs. Rutherford, from my childhood when I was about 9, used to let me go to her house and play on her piano. First, being the polite little girl that I was, I would visit with her and ask about her children and her grandchildren. Oh how I envied them. I taught myself how to read the basics of music and would play for awhile. She would eventually come in and give me cookies and milk and I would run home. Her house always smelled like lilacs. She had bushes of them surrounding the house and always had several vases around the house. Sometimes I would take a bunch of them to my house. They never smelled the same in my house though.

3. Gasoline; Yes, you read that right. I loved my Grandfather. He had a mechanics garage behind his house. We lived next door. He could repair anything with a motor. From a lawn mower to an automobile. The best guy in town. Good service and by recollection, fair prices. I would love it when I had to go in to give him a message from my Grandmother. I could inhale that smell for hours. Unfortunately, they didn�t know the danger back then. He died from emphezyma at 70 something. Winters in Maine meant keeping the garage closed up tight while he worked. It eventually killed him.

4. Puppy breath; I don�t know why. I always just liked it.

5. Baby powder; I really don�t think any explanation is called for. I can�t imagine anyone not loving that smell. It just screams innocence, love and miracle. My memory is of both my children and any other baby I have ever held in my life.

Not so wonderful

1. Roses. When we were kids, we used to take a shortcut home from school that took us through the parking lot of Hay and Peabody Funeral home. The gardiner/janitor used to take all the left over flowers and put them in a shed. We would stop by and he would give us bouquets to take home to our mom. He always gave us roses if he had them. To this day, when I smell roses, it reminds me of death. I think the odor is sickly and the color reminds me of blood. I find them morbid. Give me Carnations any day.

2. foot odor; One of the most offensive odors in life. I don�t really have a specific memory of it, but I can remember the smell at will. Yuck!

3. Fried eggs; Though the aroma doesn�t bother me now, I can still remember how deathly sick I would get cooking them the first 3 months of my first pregnancy.

4. Cigars; see fried eggs, though they still make me nauseous.

5. Farts; Yes farts. Now you would think that growing up with 3 brothers and 3 sisters would have gotten me used to it. They weren�t the problem. I can still remember sitting in the living room when I was little. We would be watching TV and all of a sudden the room would get so noxious us kids would start yelling, AT OUR MOM! She wouldn�t bat an eye. She would just grin and say, �It was just a little one.� Silent but deadly, that�s what we called her.

Well that was fun, huh?

|






Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

From no news to much news - zing! - 7:31 P.M. , Friday, Mar. 07, 2008
Keeping the smile - 5:01 P.M. , Wednesday, Mar. 05, 2008
Welcome to my world. - 4:11 P.M. , Monday, Mar. 03, 2008
So Very Sad - 5:33 P.M. , Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Sunday Stuff - 12:21 A.M. , Monday, Feb. 25, 2008


Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

**********AND**********

� kmurray 2007
D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
Batten
Blue Opal
casa-rosie
Cassie
Chocolate Chaos
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
her-story
Ibepiglet
Joiedv
Katress
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Laineyducks
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
Moee
Mommydu
Pennyjar
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Rosietoes
Sallydallydo
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
Ship-Jumper
Skibigsky
The Cranky One
The Wondering Jew
Uncle Bob
wifemotherme
Wild Rosie
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Art
Bettyalready
Ann & Bob
Chailife
Lena
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
Weaselwrites

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
Kitchen Logic
Lisele
The Flying Rat
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Riddiger
Shiznit
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen