Cosmicrayola

my friends call me Cosmic.

That's better than what some people call me


Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places

Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Monday, Jan. 30, 2006 9:40 P.M.

Warning! Sappy Entry Ahead

The weekend went too quickly. Due to Jeff staying in Maine later than planned meant his sister never got him to Rhode Island until after 11:00pm. I talked with him on his cell and he told me to go ahead to bed and he would see me the next day.

By the time Lori, him and the girls all got moving in the morning it was 9:00 before he got here. He had to leave by 11 to get back to the airport in NH so I saw him a total of 1 hour and 40 minutes minus his 20 minutes in the shower.

I talk to him ever week or so on the phone, so it isn�t as though we had a lot to catch up on. Though the time was short, it was nice to see him in the flesh and make sure he was healthy and happy. He was.


***** ***** ***** ***** ***** *****

Ok, sappy entry here. I have to do it.

I don�t know if you read theflyingrat or not. Jenn is a sweet mom to an adorable baby boy, (Hi Riley) who is gorgeous. She is married to a cutie named Kent. He is a good guy. Well, Jenn wanted to go and visit her brandy-new nephew and Kent wasn�t up for the trip because it would mean him not getting much rest before going back to work after his two days off. Jenn really wanted to go, but resigned herself to putting it off for a while.

As she was typing away, Kent came into the room and said he had been thinking and wanted to go after-all. Jenn said It was ok, she could wait. Then Kent said the most wonderful sentence I have heard ever. And I quote:

"No I really want to go. A year from now, I won't remember that I was tired at work one day. But I will remember the first time I see my nephew."

Is that not a wonderful line to quote? Is that not something that makes you stop in your tracks and do an assessment of your own life just a tad? It did me.

How many times have I though about going to that movie, just daughter and myself but didn�t make the call because it will use up most of my two days off.

How many times have I passed up a lunch with a friend because I would have to get dressed and actually leave the house on a Saturday?

Or didn�t go out with another friend for a coffee or a drink because I had to get up early?

Too many. Far too many.

And one day, I will wake up and the daughter will be living somewhere else. My friend will have passed away. My other friend will be unable to drive.

And I will have wasted all those good times I could have had because I was too tired, or too busy, or too lazy.

Friends and family are more precious than time or rest. I don�t want to miss any more chances to cram some more memories into my life. When I get so old that the eyes keep me from my computer or my books, I hope to have my book and an album of memories in my mind to entertain me. Because, with Kent�s way of thinking, it would be a shame if my album consisted of mornings spent sleeping in or spending the day in front of the TV.

I think Saturday I will go to the movies with Lori.


|

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

From no news to much news - zing! - 7:31 P.M. , Friday, Mar. 07, 2008
Keeping the smile - 5:01 P.M. , Wednesday, Mar. 05, 2008
Welcome to my world. - 4:11 P.M. , Monday, Mar. 03, 2008
So Very Sad - 5:33 P.M. , Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Sunday Stuff - 12:21 A.M. , Monday, Feb. 25, 2008


Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

**********AND**********

� kmurray 2007
D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
Batten
Blue Opal
casa-rosie
Cassie
Chocolate Chaos
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
her-story
Ibepiglet
Joiedv
Katress
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Laineyducks
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
Moee
Mommydu
Pennyjar
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Rosietoes
Sallydallydo
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
Ship-Jumper
Skibigsky
The Cranky One
The Wondering Jew
Uncle Bob
wifemotherme
Wild Rosie
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Art
Bettyalready
Ann & Bob
Chailife
Lena
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
Weaselwrites

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
Kitchen Logic
Lisele
The Flying Rat
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Riddiger
Shiznit
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen