Cosmicrayola

my friends call me Cosmic.

That's better than what some people call me


Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places

Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Sunday, Mar. 18, 2007 9:01 A.M.

Sunday Shennanigan's

Hello. I�m back. This has been a strange week. First of all, I have to give you a little background.

About 2 months ago, I started taking Wellbutrin. It is an antidepressant. I wasn�t taking it for depression. It has the same exact chemical makeup as Zyban. Zyban, if you live on another planet and have never seen the ads, are a smoking cessation pill. So anyway, I started taking it. This was the second time I tried it. The first time, it made me occasionally dizzy and gave me weird dreams, so I stopped taking it. I decided to give it another chance.

I took it for a month, one pill every morning. My system was tolerating it, so I upped it to one in the morning and one at night. I was doing okay. This was all with my doctor�s blessing. I was not smoking at all during work. I would have a couple in the morning before I left and then I wouldn�t light up until 4:00PM. One would think that if one could go for over seven hours, one could quit, right? Well, not always, I guess. I couldn�t get past it.

After two months of taking it, I decided that since it hadn�t worked, I would stop taking it. I didn�t tell the doctor for the same reason I never mentioned it here. I�m all about the �Way to go!�s and the �Good for you!�s but I hate the letdowns when I once again fail. So anyway, I just stopped taking it. Want to know what happens when you go from two mind-altering pills a day to none? It ain�t pretty. The first 4 or 5 days go by and you forget you were even taking it. Then about the 5th or 6th day, you are sitting, minding your own business when WHAM! It feels like someone took an awl and just jammed it into the side of your head! It�s over as quickly as it came so you ignore it. Then about 5 or 10 minutes later, WHAM! There it is again. That was what happened last Monday.

I had experienced a small but painful migraine on Sunday, so I chalked it up to that. I am one of the lucky migraine sufferers, if you can call it that. I get a �feeling� in my head about 10 minutes beforehand. Then I get the crazy zig-zags in front of my eyes. At that moment, if I swallow 3 motrin, asprin, or what-have-you, I can stave off (I said stave and you didn�t, neener) the big one. I usually end up with a dull ache for the rest of the day, but that�s a far cry from the big one which puts me in bed with no light or sound for at least 6 hours. That is, of course, as long as I don�t cough or sneeze or bend over. Then I get the sledgehammer up side of the head and remember not to do THAT for the rest of the day. Lord, it�s fun being me.

Okay, back to the story if you�ve managed to read this far. I know, it�s pretty boring but consider it my Public Service Announcement for the week.

So now I�m off the meds, it�s been 5 or 6 days, and I get this �Awl-in-the-head� pain. That just cracked me up when I read that. �Awl-in-the-head� hehe) I swallowed a few Mortin and after the 7th or 8th pain, they finally stopped. The trouble came the next day when I woke with a headache that nothing would stop. I worked Tuesday and bosslady told me to stay home until it went away. She said I couldn�t get much work done in pain. That was funny. Since my head hurt so much, I wasn�t talking like my chipper self and managed to get more done on Tuesday that I normally get done in two days. Anyway, I stayed home on Wednesday and called the doctor. He was none too happy with me. You just STOPPED taking the Wellbutrin? You stopped cold turkey??? You can�t do that! Well, I guess I showed him, huh? Not only could I do it, but I did! Well, I�ve never been accused of being the brightest bulb in the box. So anyway, he has me back on them at one per day for 5 days and then one every other day. Then I should be fine. Wednesday, Thursday and Friday were a bitch. Yesterday wasn�t too bad at all and I have been up for an hour and a half and am just now starting to feel the headache. Not even bad enough for the motrin, though. Hopefully, by the end of next week, I should be fine.

So remember, kiddies. If you are taking any meds that screw with your brain, make sure you taper off slowly. If not, your brain screws you back.

*********

Well, how about this silly weather, huh? Yesterday morning was weird. We only got about 3 inches of snow, but it froze after that. Now, my front steps have about seven stairs plus the porch. My back has two little step on the left and the ramp that goes out straight ahead. I tried opening the back door and it wouldn�t budge. The heavy main door opens in, but the screen/glass door opens out. Well, except for yesterday. The front is like glass city. We are imprisoned! I gave it some thought and came up with a solution. We got out. Of course, today I have to put back the screens and glass in the door. It must have looked funny from across the yard. Here I am, the bottom half of my torso all warm and toasty in the house with the top half which would be my head and arms outside shoveling away the snow in front of the door. Oh well, it worked.

So today, it is supposed to get up to 36 degrees. My neighbor shoveled her half of the front porch first thing yesterday morning. We had both opened the front door at the same time. I told her to enjoy herself but that God was going to clean my porch. He did a good job yesterday. He took back all the snow from the stairs and half off the porch. I think he got called away, but I�m sure he will be back today to finish the job. He doesn�t do the back ramp, though. I may have to go out and do that myself later this afternoon. I can�t complain. He works for free.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

From no news to much news - zing! - 7:31 P.M. , Friday, Mar. 07, 2008
Keeping the smile - 5:01 P.M. , Wednesday, Mar. 05, 2008
Welcome to my world. - 4:11 P.M. , Monday, Mar. 03, 2008
So Very Sad - 5:33 P.M. , Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Sunday Stuff - 12:21 A.M. , Monday, Feb. 25, 2008


Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

**********AND**********

� kmurray 2007
D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
Batten
Blue Opal
casa-rosie
Cassie
Chocolate Chaos
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
her-story
Ibepiglet
Joiedv
Katress
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Laineyducks
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
Moee
Mommydu
Pennyjar
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Rosietoes
Sallydallydo
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
Ship-Jumper
Skibigsky
The Cranky One
The Wondering Jew
Uncle Bob
wifemotherme
Wild Rosie
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Art
Bettyalready
Ann & Bob
Chailife
Lena
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
Weaselwrites

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
Kitchen Logic
Lisele
The Flying Rat
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Riddiger
Shiznit
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen